A Strange Sighting from 2 Different Viewpoints

I’m going relay a personal UFO sighting my daughter and I had a few years back – some 16 years ago. What makes this sighting amazing and quite different from other sightings I have heard and read about is that we both remember something similar, yet different, having taken place. I seemed to see things she did not, and vice versa. This could be just the way different human beings interpret events that are odd, or it could be that some force caused us to see slightly different occurances. Either way, here is my version, and then her version, of the same exact event:

MY VERSION
It was around 10pm on a balmy summer evening in 1998. My daughter, around 16 years old at that time, and I were driving back from taking her friend home. After dropping her friend off, we were headed east on one of the many granite roads in Central Wisconsin. We were enjoying the warm weather in “the Batmobile”, a nickname one of her friends gave my 1988 Camero with a T-Top. The wind was blowing in our hair and we were just enjoying the ride home. We were only about 5 miles from our house when I noticed a strange light out to the left and slightly ahead of us. I slowed the car down and pointed the light out to her and she, too, saw it. Something didn’t seem right about this light in the sky so I eased the car over to the side of the road, opened the door and stepped out, standing by the car and staring at this object in order to get a better look. The light appeared to be some sort of craft – the outline of the craft was very hard to make out in the dark night sky, but it was moving very slowly to the west, almost hovering, over a farm about 1/4 mile north of where we were stopped. It seemed to be about 150 – 200′ up in the sky, although height distances in the evening are hard to judge. I recall Mary being rather nervous and wanting to leave while we were standing there on the side of the road with this unknown object up there in they sky — it did feel as if we were quite vulnerable out there by ourselves in the dark on a lonely back road.

I recall a slight buzzing noise coming from the object and to my amazement what appeared to be a door of some sort opening up slowly on the side of the craft — a triangular door which was pointed at the top and wider at the bottom. It just stood still there with this door opening with brilliant light coming from the inside. Both myself and Mary were by then ready to leave the area in a very rapid manner and that’s exactly what we did. Not knowing what this was did make me quite a bit nervous, I must admit.

We sped to our home where my wife was and I told her about what we just experienced. Her and I jumped back into the car so I could find and show her this object in the sky as we are both UFO afficianados. We drove up to where Mary and I had seen it; it couldn’t have been but 6-8 minutes later, but nothing was there now. We drove along that road trying to locate that light but we saw nothing. We must have spent some 30 minutes driving all over the back roads trying to locate it — no luck.

I have never seen anything like this since but I still watch closely every time I am out in the evening, be it sitting outside star-gazing at home or driving around the country-side. I have thought about this incident long and hard and tried to determine if there was something I was missing — if there was any time I could not account for, or any additional memories pertaining to it that may pop back up. I do not recall anything else and I do not believe there was any missing time.

I am fairly certain this object we saw was not normal. While common sense tells me that it is certainly possible we misinterpreted a sighting of a conventional craft that evening, I seriously doubt that. I’ve tried to reason and tell myself it was a helicopter, but I know it was not because not only am I very familiar with helicopters, I know what sort of sound they make. They do not buzz. The only flying object that I know of that makes a sort of buzzing noise is an ultralight although an ultralight at that close distance would have been much, much louder. Additionally, I do not think anyone would be up in the sky in the evening with an ultralight, and I’m pretty confident there are no ultralights with triangular-shaped opening doors. And, on top of that, I do not know of any ultralights that can all but hover. By defintion, what we experienced was an unidentified flying object, a UFO.

rect

MARY’s VERSION
I grew up gazing into the night sky. Whether a moment of reflection or appreciation, or a dedicated evening, I watched, observed and waited. I knew every constellation and every major star. I knew the milkiness of the Milky Way, and the sight of the satellites as they putted along their many paths.

It was in my blood. I developed my love of the sky, and what lie beyond, from my father, who would pick out the constellations with me, and wonder aloud if life really did exist out there. Together, we spent countless hours watching through the telescope, and feeding off each other’s excitement at the possibilities of the unknown. It wasn’t uncommon for us to pull the car off to the side of a back road, while traveling here or there, and look deep into the cosmos, or examine some aircraft or unknown light source in the sky.

One night, after taking a friend of mine home, we did just that. Something had caught our eyes, and we wanted to investigate. So, we got out of the car, and looked up. Whatever it was, it didn’t make a sound as it passed over us, high up in the sky. And although it wasn’t terribly near, it was close enough for me to see that it was rectangular, and its underside looked like the circuitry on a motherboard, but mostly colorless – grey and black.

From the moment we first spotted it, I had been scared. Several minutes of my dad standing and staring at it had passed before I even got out of the car. And upon emerging and examining further, I still wanted to leave, and said so over and over as it moved nearly out of sight.

So, we did. We got in the car and went home to tell my mom what had happened. But upon doing so, we noticed a very peculiar thing – my memory differed from that of my father’s. He had experienced something more – something that, to this day, I can’t recall.

Looking back on this experience, several questions cross my mind – Scully-like questions, that help to explain why our memories differ.

Did something happen that, because of my fear, my mind protected me from? Did my father slip into a daydream and see something that wasn’t real / was only in his mind? Did something happen to him that did not happen to me? Does the eye see what the mind wants to?

Our experience – both that which is shared, and that which diverges – may never be fully explained or understood. But we still look up into the night sky, in search of answers, calmed by the beauty of the universe, and intrigued by the endless possibilities that abound, both in our minds and out there.

So, there you have it. The same event, yet different interpretations for whatever reasons. Is there any possible additional things that happened during our sighting that neither of us remember? Could our minds be supressing part of that night’s happenings? We may never know. What we do know is we both saw something at the same time that we cannot explain and is very unlikely to have been conventional aircraft. Hopefully some day we will have more answers.

Please Leave a Reply

